Praises!

Love Always Wins...

While I noticed that there may be a trend in seemingly down topics on this blog so far I would like to make a post in a different vein. I haven’t spoken on my blog very much about my family or friends aside from B (who counts as both), but that is one thing that I am blessed with (maybe not with an abundance of but very high quality of both.) This is not a blog that I have chosen to share with my loved ones yet if at all, however I do want to acknowledge the immense effect they have on me.

While it was hard for my family to accept my pregnancy at first due to my age, marital status and unemployment they have definitely been very supportive of me. My mother, who had her first child at a young age while unmarried, was the first to try and push marriage on us, however after numerous attempts she has (for the moment) dropped the subject. She has been my rock for all of my life and I am blessed to have her and be able to have an open dialogue with her without fear of judgement.

I know that while I do not have the financial stability or material things many people want or think necessary to raise a child I do have a strong support network. My mother and sisters may not agree with my every decision and probably never will, but they respect my choices and have always demonstrated what a good mother, sister, friend and woman should be. I know that is not something everybody can say.

This weekend my sister threw me a baby shower and 15 of my chosen family (friends) showed me such love and kindness that I was truly humbled. While I have felt ambivalent about the world my son is about to enter and the struggles he will face, I was reassured that while there will certainly be things he wants, there will never be anything he needs that he won’t have.

I am fortunate and could not be more grateful for the people in my life. I know some people who have read my posts might consider me to be seeking sympathy or droning on in a “woe is me” type of way. That is not the case. Life is hard, yes. But life has many joys and is filled with plenty of simple, ordinary treasures from the family you were given, the family you have chosen and the smallest fortunes you stumble across in your daily existence that you may take for granted.

I am extremely fortunate in many ways and I don’t think that any depiction of me is complete without revealing the strength that I am given through my loved ones.

About Brickhouse

This little box cannot contain me, but I'll give it a shot: Black college grad, mother-to-be, broke, educator, activist & writer embarking on a new journey. Trying to document this crazy world surrounding me in hopes of retaining/gaining sanity.
This entry was posted in Blessings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Praises!

  1. ewoman88 says:

    🙂 lotsa hugs from teh crazy kitty and boy do I feel you 😛
    Exactly how old are you?? I’m 20 and 9 months pregnant and most people haven’t said anything about my age… O.o

    • Brickhouse says:

      I’m 24 (and if baby stays on schedule) I will be 25 before he arrives! I don’t feel that I’m an inappropriate age to be pregnant, but I think it has more to do with me not “fulfilling career goals” or having financial stability. I worry about that too, but I can’t help but think that the love that I’m able to provide will compensate. (So corny I know!)

  2. Love does ALWAYS win. Girl you have no idea how much you will love this baby once you see his or her face. The rush of love is so amazing and large and forceful and indescribable. Material things don’t matter. You’ve got it all — a supportive network of family and friends, an education, a job, and now a new baby on the way. Hang it there.

  3. Cameron says:

    I’m skeptical about bringing a child into this world knowing they’ll probably have it harder than my generation did but at the end of the day I think I’ll do it.

    • Brickhouse says:

      I guess there are pros and cons about the advancing of generations. As a Black woman I know for a fact that there are certain things that are MUCH easier than my mother who grew up in segregated Mississippi in the ’50s. However, with the growing options and resources available it makes decisions much harder and she would argue about a breakdown in communities. I probably will face some of these same thoughts through my child’s life. Already elementary/middle/high schools have changed so much since I was there and I only graduated in ’04!

Leave a Reply

